SF3 (Screen Free Week)

Posted: May 12, 2012 in Blog, News, Screen Free Week
Tags: , , , , ,

It is an interesting feeling to be stuck in a cell and have such strong convictions that you do not want to get out. Let time pass, violate more of my rights. See what that will bring in the end. I knew while I was shivering and trying to doze off that this would be an important case, and just may set a president for how we as a mass movement will start reclaiming a number of our rights. I had plenty of time to think on how to approach my case, and was feeling rather optimistic.

When I was placed in the room with two plain-clothes detectives, I had absolutely nothing to say to them. The only thing I told the judge on my second arrangement was that I will be doing an act of civil disobedience, that being a hunger strike. I was misidentified, and a number of my universal rights were being violated. It did not take too long for them to realize they had to get me out of that cell, and fast.

Pressure was mounting, and I knew on the other side of the thick walls that held me, there were others gathering in support of me. I was making a stand and did not want to be transferred to another facility. When the guards came to get me I remained in a meditative state and they physically removed me. It was good that I was in a meditative state as I am pretty sure one of the guards was attempting to break my wrist while carrying me. They laughed and joked while counting in unison “One, two three!” to toss me into the holding vehicle to bring me to the County Jail in Downtown Phoenix. One of a few stomping-grounds of Sheriff Joe Arpaio. The conditions of this jail reflected his token human rights violating operation procedures. Once more I was put in a cell with no toilette paper, but this time it was with a number of other individuals being charged with a variety of crimes.

Much to my surprise the inmates got along with each other better then I anticipated. Although I did hear from multiple individuals that an entire floor of the jail was in lock-down due to a large race-related rivalry which apparently had been a major factor in a series of riots.

I had a number of sociopolitical discussions with many of the inmates, and much to my delight there was little to no one there that did not express delight and surprise in hearing my story. I really focused on being in the moment as much as possible and connecting with others, as by now slight hunger pains had started to set-in. I had given all my food to the other inmates, as I stood by my hunger strike. At this point I had no idea how long I would be in, and was prepared for the worse if it came to that. I recall hearing the human body can survive nearly a full week without food, so long as the body remains well hydrated and active. My experience with fasts and detoxes was coming in handy greatly.

Much to my surprise, I was being shifted from room to room, and increasingly it was appearing as though I was being let free. Eventually I was released, and waiting directly outside were friends of mine from the event and other organizations I am a part of. My hypothesis was confirmed! They had been there for me at my first holding cell, as well as my new location once they found out I was transferred. Much to my shock, one of my friends had been arrested while he was waiting outside for me, due to some warrants which were also related to our collective activism.

One of the most interesting things I took note of was how much respect I received from those I was used to disagreeing with fundamentally. In-fact these individuals were the ones the lead the jail support initiative for me. When it is all said and done, we are all in this together, and it felt very good to have that notion proven. I have said this before, and I will say it again. The universe provides.

They organized a “getting out of jail” party for me, so we gathered to share stores over a few drinks. My wounds were finely tended to, and besides still not having a way to see well it was all a matter in the past. I was able to eat a little bit before finely sleeping at my friend and comrades house.

Thoughts? Questions? Emotions?

